Anaheim Car Accident Lawyers Explain the Role of Insurance Companies After a Car Crash
When you get hurt in a car crash in California, the expenses start rising instantly. You need to get your car fixed and see a doctor about your injuries. You might not be likely to perform your job functions or pay your bills, so you will need to find a way to be compensated for the lost money.
Even though the crash was over within seconds, the long-term financial effects of losing your health are just getting started. Insurance plays a significant role in the State of California for both the Victim and the At-Fault Driver, also known as the Defendant.
CALIFORNIA CAR INSURANCE PROCESS
California law says that all drivers must have car insurance, but that doesn’t mean everyone knows how the system works.
No matter who was at fault in a car accident in California, people with auto insurance should first call their own insurance company. An insured person must quickly inform their insurance company about a car insurance claim, whether they are a victim or a defendant.
The drivers can give claim information by calling the number on the insurance card of the policyholder. A claim can also be started online or with a mobile app if the insurance company provides those options.
Those who were not insured at the time of the accident can file a claim with the other party’s insurance company if they think the other party was wholly or partially to blame.
In California, there is a “fault” system in place. That means drivers must pay for any damage they cause in an accident. So if you are at fault, you need to pay up. If you were not at fault, you may be entitled to compensation.
MINIMUM CAR INSURANCE COVERAGE IN CALIFORNIA
In California, it is the law that drivers must have car insurance and that insurance must meet specific requirements.
Under California Insurance Code §11580.1b, drivers’ minimum liability insurance requirements include:
– $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
– $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
– $5,000 for property damage.
ROLE OF THE DEFENDANT’S (AT-FAULT DRIVER’S) INSURANCE
Obtaining damages from the at-fault motorist is the most common way for victims to pay for their injuries. In some instances, even the vehicle manufacturer may be a responsible party.
The insurance company will reimburse the victim if the other driver is found to be at fault. Where things get tricky is if the insured person disagrees with the amount of compensation the insurance company is offering.
Insurance companies try to close cases fast to limit their losses so that they do not have to pay people the money they deserve. You have a right to fight for the compensation you deserve.
The right lawyer will initiate a case for uncompensated damages. Even if you’ve started speaking to insurance attorneys – stop and call us. We’re rated as the best Anaheim Car Accident lawyers for a reason. Call us today for your no obligation free consultation.